When users work in an application, they may occasionally make changes to their user experience that they don’t want to keep. For instance, you may make changes to the way that documents are opened and realize that you prefer the default settings, or you may make changes to the file import list that you want to undo. In the upcoming release of Laserfiche, you will be able to quickly restore your settings to the default setting. This will allow you to quickly undo changes to settings in the Laserfiche Client and Laserfiche Web Access that you may not have wanted to make or that are causing problems.

For example, a user might spend a few hours playing with their Laserfiche Client options, configuring new behavior for new documents, modifying the panes in the document viewer and changing the columns that are being displayed. When they are done experimenting, they might want to discard their modifications and return to the default. In the next version of Laserfiche, the Restore Default Settings option will allow them to do so quickly and easily. Similarly, if an administrator is trying to resolve an issue specific to a particular user, they might choose to restore that user’s settings to the default to ensure that the problem is not caused by one of the user’s settings.

Restoring default settings resets various personalized options you have configured in client applications. For example, it resets your user-specific document import settings, page generation settings, OCR and text generation options, document viewer panes and so forth. It does not have an effect on any administrator-configured repository-wide settings, nor does it have an effect on information stored in your repository, such as metadata and the contents of documents. It also does not affect saved configurations, such as saved searches, custom quick searches, custom toolbar buttons and saved column profiles, that may be time-consuming to recreate.

From an administrative standpoint, restoring default settings automatically clears the appropriate trustee attributes. It has no effect on other users’ trustee attributes or on trustee attributes configured for the entire repository on the Everyone group. It also does not have an effect on Server-wide or repository-wide settings configured in the Administration Console. In addition, a user’s settings are automatically backed up to their computer when they restore their default settings, ensuring that they can return to their prior configuration if necessary.

Note: Since this is a preview, the details and appearances of certain elements may change between now and the final release.

Related Posts